Invisible Threads - EP

by Blank Blue

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $3.99 USD  or more




Blank Blue is a band that began as a recording project between producer/DJ Nobody (Elvin Estela) and singer Niki Randa. In 2008, in order to promote their debut LP Western Water Music Vol. 2, the pair added drummer Andres Renteria and bass player/arranger Brian Akio Martinez into the mix. Initially using their instruments as reinforcement for Estela’s programmed beats, the band eventually decided to ditch electronics altogether and compose with just guitar, bass and drums, with Estela taking on guitar duties.

Blank Blue's forthcoming EP, Invisible Threads, pulls together the best of the songs that the band wrote and performed at various shows from 2008 to 2011. Although technically the group’s second record, this release feels like the fresh debut of a fully realized band that is carving out its sound rather than a continuation of a previous incarnation.

Though only four songs, Invisible Threads feels more like a mini album. During the record’s 27 minutes, various tempos, rhythms and beats are explored - often within the same song.

“I think these songs are explorative by nature,” explains Randa. “When we were writing these songs we were really testing our abilities as musicians and as a band. We were writing eight-minute long songs on the regular. Our songs are narratives, nightmarish or apocalyptic in theme, but they always wake to somewhere gentle.”

Since these initial recordings, each member of Blank Blue has blossomed as individual musicians. Niki has featured and co-wrote with Flying Lotus, who remixed their first single coincidentally, on some of his most critically acclaimed tracks including “Getting There” and “Coronus, the Terminator”. Andres has been playing percussion and touring with Jose Gonzalez for the last six years, as well as providing percussion and drums on countless recordings. Brian has produced the Eagle Rock Music Festival as well playing bass in The Gaslamp Killer Experience. Elvin continues to release music as Nobody and is a co-founder of weekly beat music mecca Low End Theory.


released October 21, 2016

Niki Randa - vocals
Elvin Estela - guitar / keys
Brian Akio Martinez - bass
Andres Renteria - percussion



all rights reserved


Psychic Fortitude Los Angeles, California

Music publishing and merchandising imprint based in Los Angeles, California

contact / help

Contact Psychic Fortitude

Streaming and
Download help